Payment plans available

All major credit cards accepted.

Credit Card Logos

Ask About Our Straight Forward Fee Schedule.

Call 24/7 for a free case evaluation.

For Immediate Response

PA: (215) 292-7331
NJ: (609) 616-3498

All after hours calls forwarded to my cell phone

Offices throughout

  • Pennsylvania
  • Bucks County
  • Philadelphia
  • Montgomery County
  • Chester County
  • New Jersey
  • Burlington County
  • Mercer County
  • Camden County
  • South Jersey
  • Shore Points

Pennsylvania First Time DUI Penalties & Consequences

BAC .08% to .099%. This is an ungraded Misdemeanor with a 6 month maximum probation and a $300.00 fine. Required CRN, AHSS and possible D&A. There is no loss of license and no jail time with this particular category. Most likely insurance premium increases.

BAC .10% to .159%. This is an ungraded Misdemeanor with a mandatory 48 hour imprisonment up to a possible 6 months and a $500.00 to $5,000.00 fine. Required CRN, AHSS (Alcohol Highway Safety School) and possible D&A. The license suspension is 12 months. However there is a possibility to get an Occupational Limited License (OLL) after serving a hard 2 month suspension. Most likely insurance premium increases.

BAC 16% or higher, refusal to give a blood/breath sample, drugs in system. This is ungraded Misdemeanor with a mandatory 72 hour imprisonment up to a possible 6 months and a $1,000.00 to $5,000.00 fine. Required CRN, AHSS and mandatory full D&A. The license suspension is 12 months. Also possibility for OLL after serving hard 2 months suspension. Most likely insurance premium increases.

ARD Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition: Possible for 1st time offenders. Charges dismissed 1 year after classes, fines and/or community service. No imprisonment.

License Suspension: No Suspension - 60 day Suspension depending on BAC. Eligibility for ARD is the sole discretion of District Attorney.

ENHANCEMENTS:

REFUSAL: If any person willfully refused a peace officer's request to submit to a chemical test the punishment shall be enhanced by an imprisonment of at least 72 continuous hours in the county jail + 1 year additional license suspension.

COMMERCIAL VEHICLE: A driver of a commercial motor vehicle may not operate a commercial motor vehicle for a period of one year.

MINOR PASSENGER: If any person is convicted and a minor under 14 years of age was a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the offense, the court shall impose 48-72 minimum continuous hours in the county jail.

DEFENDANT 13-18 YEARS OLD: If committed while the person was under the age of 21 years, but 13 years of age or older, the court shall suspend the person's driving privilege for one year.

DEFENDANT UNDER 18 YEARS OLD: The term of the revocation shall be until the person reaches 18 years of age, for one year, or for the period prescribed for restriction, suspension, or revocation specified whichever is longer.

Back to home page

New Jersey First Time DUI Penalties & Consequences

BAC .08% to .099%. Imprisonment of up to 30 days. License suspension of 3 months. $250-$400 fine along with other fees that can exceed $500 total. 12-48 hours of Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. Possible interlock ignition device. $1000/year NJ surcharge for 3 years. Most likely insurance premium increases.

BAC .10% or more, under the influence of drugs, refusal to give a blood/breath sample. Imprisonment of up to 30 days. License suspension between 7 months and 12 months. Possible interlock ignition device. If greater than .15%, mandatory interlock ignition device for a period of 6 - 12 months following driving suspension. 12-48 hours of Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. $300- $500 fine along with other fees that exceed $500 total. $1000/year NJ surcharge for 3 years. Most likely insurance premium increases.

ENHANCEMENTS:

DUI IN A SCHOOL ZONE OR SCHOOL CROSSING: Imprisonment of 60 days. License suspension between 12 months and 24 months. If greater than .15%, mandatory interlock ignition device for a period of 6 - 12 months following driving suspension. 12-48 hours of Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. $500-$800 fine along with other fees that exceed $500 total. $1000/year NJ surcharge for 3 years. Most likely insurance premium increases.

REFUSAL IN A SCHOOL ZONE: In addition to regular penalties for refusal, there is also a license suspension between 1 to 2 years.

DEFENDANT UNDER 21 YEARS OLD:

If BAC below .08:
  • 30-90 day driving privilege suspension if currently licensed; or
  • 30-90 day prohibition from becoming a licensed driver at age 17 years; and,
  • 15-30 days mandatory community service; and
  • participation in an IDRC or other alcohol education; and
  • completion of a highway safety program

If BAC over .08, Combination of DUI Penalties (depending on BAC) plus the previous penalties.